To make a gluten-free diet it is important to learn to identify foods that contain this protein. Likewise, healthy substitutes should be known that allow maintaining a balanced diet plan. The gluten-free diet is a dietary model in which all products derived from oats, wheat, barley and other cereals are eliminated. The gluten is a protein that is not indispensable for the human being, reason why its exclusion of the diet is not a problem. Until a few years ago, its adaptation had medical reasons such as the control of celiac disease, gluten sensitivity and wheat allergy. However, due to its weight loss benefits, many healthy people decided to implement it.
And it is that, unlike other diet regimens, it proposes a balanced plan that does not cause metabolic outflows or other side effects. In addition, it is easier to maintain, since it includes all the nutrient groups.
What are the reasons to follow a gluten-free diet?
Beyond having a disorder like celiac disease, there are other reasons to make the decision to follow a gluten-free diet. Although the consumption of cereals is one of the bases of the food pyramid, this guide of nutrition helps to find healthy substitutes, free of this protein. It is based mainly on the combination of natural products without gluten, which have a more balanced composition of micro and macronutrients. For example, suggests foods such as lean meats, fish, vegetables and pseudocereals.
Because it limits the maximum consumption of processed, it is a good option to lose weight without exposing health. In addition, by helping to control excess inflammation, it can promote relief and prevention of various diseases. In detail, a gluten-free diet helps:
- Strengthen the immune system and increase defenses.
- Reduce inflammation and control irritable bowel syndrome.
- Encourage the control of type I diabetes
- Control the symptoms of rheumatoid arthritis.
- Support the treatment of thyroiditis.
- Prevent and treat cardiovascular diseases.
- Control skin diseases.
Steps you should take into account when making a gluten-free diet
When it comes to a gluten-free diet it is good to have the opinion of a doctor or nutritionist. Although it is an acceptable and safe model of nutrition, it should not be ignored that it must be adapted to the needs of age, health and weight.
However, there are some simple steps that can support its adoption in those who have recently made the decision to follow it. Are you interested in knowing them? Discover the 7 main ones
1.Eliminate gluten-containing cereals
The basis of a gluten-free diet is the elimination of cereals that contain such protein. While some are part of the lists of healthy foods common diets, it is necessary to remove them and find gluten – free (alternative “gluten free “).
The list includes:
- Semolina flour
- Derivatives such as breads, pastas, cookies, etc.
2.Review food labels
The people who decide to follow this form of feeding are obliged to carefully check the labels of the food products. Now some companies use the “gluten free” brand to facilitate their identification.
3.Cooking at home
It is easier to control what is on the plate when preparing meals at home. In this way, the use of organic foods, free of this protein, is ensured. Unfortunately, many restaurants cover meats or use flour in much of their preparations.
4.Identify the “gluten in disguise”
Watch out! Gluten can also be disguised in the products, which makes identification difficult. Check on the labels that there are no components such as gluten, cereals, flour, modified starches or starches. Neither should it contain malt extracts or thickeners.
5.Review breakfast foods
Many of the products with gluten are usually those that are taken at breakfast. Therefore, in order not to ruin the gluten-free diet, box cereals, energy bars and any product with starch and flour content should be avoided.
6.Replace corn and rice
In the market there are available pseudocereals that serve as replacements for products of regular consumption such as corn and rice. Some options such as quinoa, millet and buckwheat have become popular for their high-value nutrient content.
7.Drinks may also contain gluten
Beverages that are made from cereals or that contain malt, such as barley water, beer and some machine coffees are also a source of gluten. Do not ignore this detail, because many only worry about solid foods.
Are you thinking about following a gluten-free diet? Take care of all these recommendations and enjoy their benefits. That’s right; make sure all the menus are balanced, because it is not about taking a restrictive or low-calorie plan.